Gitty Daneshvari

Image

I was lucky enough to be able to meet the awesome and talented writer, Gitty Daneshvari when I hosted a Charity Book Signing for Neurofibromatosis and Diabetes back in 2010 at my high school. I didn’t know much about Daneshvari until I met her and boy, was I lucky that she came and spoke! She won the crowd over talking about her fears as a child, something everyone could relate to. Daneshvari is the author of the middle grade series School of Fear as well as the adult romantic comedy, The Makedown. Below is my interview with Daneshvari about her experiences as a writer. For more information, please visit her website: http://www.gittydaneshvari.com. Enjoy!

– Alexa Rivadeneira

Q: How old were you when you first started writing and how did you try to develop your writing skills?

A: I first began writing when I was around eighteen. I had written short stories before but that’s when I started keeping a notebook devoted to my writing. I think the best way to hone a writer’s skills is through reading and practice! So in other words

Q: Where did you get the inspiration to write your books?

A: I was inspired to write the SCHOOL OF FEAR series after remembering my own intense childhood phobias! I had all the same fears as my main characters plus many more!

Q: What were your experiences with getting an agent and publisher?

A: My very first book THE MAKEDOWN was submitted to publishers through a friend. I was very lucky that it sold but since I didn’t know anything about publishing it would have been wise to have had an agent handle the negotiations. I hired an agent the week before I sold SCHOOL OF FEAR!

Q: What are your favorite books?

A: Anything written by Roald Dahl or David Sedaris!

Q: What are your thoughts on readers and e-books?

A: I think the world will always need content but the manner in which we get it is changing – so we all need to change with the times! It’s scary but reading is reading whether it’s on a kindle or with an actual book.

Q: What is your writing process like- do you have a set schedule?

A: I am AWFUL about keeping a set schedule, but I am currently in the process of trying to change this! I am now trying to keep banker’s hours, 9 to 5! Instead of working at all hours of the night!

Q: How do you work through writer’s block?

A: Cry…read…cry…read…After a few cycles I usually break through!!

Q: Do you have any authors that have influenced you?

A: I think Roald Dahl has been a huge influence, especially in the manner he dealt with dark ideas in children’s books.

Q: What are your hobbies aside from writing?

A: Traveling, going to the movies, watching period dramas on the BBC!

Q: Do you work with an outline or just write?

A: I ALWAYS have an outline! I would be lost without one!

Q: Do you have any new books in the work?

A: I have a new series called GHOULFRIENDS FOREVER coming out this September. It’s a spinoff of MONSTER HIGH.

Q: Are your books based on real life experiences?

A: They might be inspired by real life, but they are definitely not based on it!

Q: How long does it take you to write a book?

A: Anywhere from a few months to a few years!

Q: What was one of the most surprising things you learned in creating your books?

A: I learned that ALL of my first drafts are terrible!!! HAHAH!

Categories: Interviews, Uncategorized

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Gitty Daneshvari”

  1. Nicole Jackson
    April 24, 2012 at 4:46 am #

    I read Gitty’s first book in the School of Fear series and fell in love with it! I was introduced to the book by one of my friends, read the first chapter, and had to borrow it from her because I was hooked! While I was reading the book in school, all of my friends looked at the back and bought their own copies so my friends and I were all reading the book together! 🙂 I am a very big fan and I am a writer myself and hope that I can be as sucssful with my writing as Gitty has with been with hers!

  2. Shirel
    June 5, 2012 at 12:20 pm #

    Um, can you please tell me if Melody and all the others will be included in your story cause the last one was pretty loose and I really love it so it would REALLY help! Cause I won’t buy the book without the original characters!

Leave a comment